add share buttonsSoftshare button powered by web designing, website development company in India

Bridge inspections are governed by federal state guidelines and individuals, which can vary significantly by the state. Federal Bridge Inspection Regulation A.S. Borne by the National Bridge Inventory Standard (NBIS). They set rules about:

  • This type of bridge must be checked.
  • How often they should be checked.
  • The qualifications needed to become bridge inspectors.

The Department of Finance Transportation (DOTS) implements NBIS guidelines and generally expanding them. Most of the state programs require that more types of bridges are examined and that inspections take place more often than described by NBIS. You can get the best bridge inspection services at

Bridge Inspection

Image Source: Google

In addition, countries often place more qualification requirements on inspectors based on local inspection needs. NBIS (Federal) guidelines require periodic inspections of bridges and culverts on public roads that have spans greater than 20 feet. Many countries require bridge inspection and shorter culverts and expand the list of types of structures that are considered bridges. NBIS sets a basic time frame for three types of bridge inspection:

  • Routine inspection – 24 months
  • Inspection of critical fracture members – 24 months
  • Underwater inspection – 60 months
  • Many countries establish an additional time frame for interim, depth, and direct inspection, and for certain types of testing and measurements.

The DOTS Country Builds more detailed short-term periodic inspection guidelines related to direct bridge inspection, close-up reviews, and collecting quantitative bridge data. They basing this guideline on the condition of the bridge in the state, their disability, and local posts. They also developed longer interval inspection guidelines for various types of bridges and to cover environmental elements that could affect them in their area.

How To Perform Better Bridge Inspections?